Kirke Mechem

suite for two violins

Five Movements
Duration: 9 minutes
Premiere: March 3, 1969
Cecily Edmunds and Harry Moulin
San Francisco, CA
Publisher: ECS, Fenton, MO

The suite was composed 1952-53.

Yukiko Kamei and Kenneth Renshaw, violins

1 Allegro vivo

2 Andante con moto

3 Vivace
4 Andante
5 Allegro grazioso

"The combination, far from being dull, had a vitality and sparkle totally absorbing to the ear. . . . rhythmic elements were the most immediately attractive, in an American modal style of harmony."      — San Francisco Chronicle